August Playlist 2011

If music be the food of love, play on.

-William Shakespeare

Highlights:

-“Back to Manhattan” by Norah Jones was the absolute perfect song for me as I came back to the city this month.

-Found Slow Club this month and prety much downloaded everything they’ve ever recorded. Such good music. “Dance Til the Morning Lights” and “It Doesn’t Have to Be Beautiful” made this months list. It will NOT be the last time you see them on this here blog.

-Lady Antebellum’s “Need You Now” gets stuck in my head like crazy! Thank goodness I love it!

-Nat showed me “Kissable, Huggable, Loveable, Unbelievable” years ago, but now that I’m on my country music kick, I love it more than ever.

-The Puppini Sisters never do me wrong. Their rendition of “It Don’t Mean a Thing” always puts me in the best of moods. When the tempo slows down about mid way through the song you can’t help but swing along with them. Brilliant!

-Most songs are about relationships; relationships between two lovers, parent and child, friends… but have you ever heard a song from an uncle or aunts perspective to their niece or nephew? “Hank” by the amazing Ben Rector is exactly that. I love listening to this song and thinking about my sweet nieces and nephew and the love I have for them.

-Do you ever listen to songs that you’ve heard a thousand times and then you hear it one day and it has a completely new meaning to you? That’s how I am recently with Best for Last by Adele. Adele is one of those other amazing young writers of today that just get me!

~cc

Leave a Reply

