Everything was beautiful at the ballet

This last Monday I had the pleasure of being in the audience for ABT’s Opening Night Gala. The evening was filled with the most beautiful pieces by the companies top dancers. It was truly one of the most amazing nights of ballet I’ve ever experienced.

The greatest part of the whole night though was seeing my best friend perform with his fellow classmates in front of the audience of 4,000. Max and the other JKO Level 7 students got to perform a classical piece for the Gala. Let me tell you, it’s such a great feeling to be filled with pride for your friend’s achievements. I’m so happy for him and know that this is only the beginning of great things to come!

One of my favorite numbers was the Grand Pas de Deux from Richard Hudson’s The Nutcracker. The choreography, flawlessy danced by Veronika Part and Marcelo Gomes, was just so new and refreshing. I always like seeing a new original take on something so classic. I would love to see the entire ballet.

Also one of the highlists of the evening was “Majisimo,” featuring ABT dancers Paloma Herrera, Xiomara Reyes, Jose Manuel Carreno and guest artists Lorena Feijoo, Lorna Feijoo, Reyneris Reyes, Nelson Madrigal, and Joan Boada. All that talent on one stage… quite a treat to watch.

I was in for quite a pleasant surprise when I opened the program and read that my favorite ballerina, Alina Cojocaru, would be performing the Rose adagio from my favorite ballet, Sleeping Beauty. Never have I gotten to see Alina perform live, so I was so very happy to see her  while she’s guesting at ABT. She embodies everything a ballerina should be; dainty, elegant, soft, beautiful… just perfection!

My favorite performance of the evening was Splendid Isolation III, with choreography by Jessica Lang and dancing by husband and wife, Irina Dvorovenko and Maxim Beloserkovsky. I’ve always throughly enjoe watching the duo perform, but this piece was just incredible. That opening image of Irina center stage with her dress fully spread, the interaction of the skirt throughout the dance, the perfect ease between them both… my mind was blown. Simply stunning.

So to conclude this post I wanted to just say how much I adore ballet. In a very weird way (and I can’t believe I’m saying this) I miss putting on my pointe shoes every day. Though I’ve always had a love/it makes me sick relationship with ballet, watching that Gala performance reminded me of the beauty and grace that makes it one of the most perfect things in this world. Ballet, you will always have a very special place in my heart. Because everything was (and is) beautiful at the ballet…

~cc

4 comments on “Everything was beautiful at the ballet

  1. Sandie says:

    Ballet is such a fine art!!

  2. MacKenzie says:

    gasp!!!!! You met Paloma Herrera?!?!?!

  3. mandm901 says:

    Lucky!

Leave a Reply

