The Way I Cope

I learned many lessons from June 3rd, but one of the more important ones I learned was that everyone copes differently. I find that I have to vocalize my feelings. Since I don’t have any memory of the accident and the memories I do have of before and after will forever be fuzzy. The more I talk about it, the more real everything becomes to me and I find that is important to me as I continue to heal emotionally and physically.

Thinking of more than just June 3rd, I find that in order to move on from anything, I have to talk about it. Saying it out rather than keeping it inside, makes me get those negative thoughts or feelings of self pitty out. It makes me realize that most of the things I worry about on a day to day basis are trivial and unimportant in the eternal perspective of things. Big thanks to my friends who are there listening when I need it…

I’ve learned by watching my friends and family now that some people don’t want to talk at all about their trials or problems. They’d rather work it out by themselves with their own thoughts. Some have blogs where they turn to writing their feelings and sharing them. Others do it by expressing it through dance, art, song, performance, dedication. There are just so many ways we can turn negative into positive. I benefit from the way others cope. Sometimes not talking about it is better. Sometimes I want to write about it. I always express my feelings through dance, but some don’t. However you cope, I’ve learned you have to respect others as they deal with it in their own way because you never know how someone else is feeling. There’s no deadline on when you should be over it, whatever it may be.

Yesterday I said something out loud that I’ve been thinking for a long time now. By saying it out loud, I knew in my heart it was true. And I feel like a weight has been lifted off of my shoulders because of it.

That’s how I cope.

~cc

 

One comment on “The Way I Cope

  1. Meredith says:

    I love you! And thank you for helping me cope!

Leave a Reply

