Chapter

So this last week I made a quick trip to NY to for some fun and exciting things that included a luncheon for the new Rox (Rockettes) at RC (Radio City), shoe and hat fittings at RC, a photoshoot with RSI (Rockette Summer Intensive) alumni, Ashley and Megan, fun class at BDC with friend Johanna (who I hadn’t seen in 3 years), and an always to quick lunch date with dear Kevin Cahoon.  So much fun packed in such a short amount of time.

So this summer after the exciting NY trip, I came home and started planning the big move up. The more I planned and thought about it, the more scared I got. Now its not the scared that everyone was asking me about; “Are you scared about how dangerous it is there?” “Is your mother nervous about you moving to such a scary city?” Of course not! I couldn’t feel more comfortable in New York. The scared I feel is just the same scared every 18 year old gets when leaving home to go off to college or in my case, life. Its those feelings of missing mom and dad, being on your own, leaving behind friends and teachers… I started doubting whether I was ready to leave behind my childhood, when in fact its what I’ve been wanting to do for quite some time now. As soon as I was in the city this last week, all those concerns and worries washed away. New York feels like home and I’m ready to move out on my own. It’s not going to be easy and I know that, but it’s part of moving on to the next chapter in my life; becoming my own person. It’s like everything I’ve ever done in life has prepared me for what I’m about to do. It’s very exhilarating. But thanks to this short trip this week, I’m confident I can do it.

Leaving in 2 weeks.

~CC

Leave a Reply

