Into the Words

If only people talked like Sondheim…

“Oh. If life were made of moments, Even now and then a bad one-!
But if life were only moments, Then you’d never know you had one.”

“Late nights, Quick bites,Party games,Deep talks, Long walks, Telephone calls.
Thoughts shared, Souls bared, Private names, All those Photos up on the walls.”

“It’s a city of strangers, Some come to work, some to play. A city of strangers, Some come to stare, some to stay.
And every day some go away Or they find each other in the crowded streets and the guarded parks,
By the rusty fountains and the dusty trees with the battered barks, and they walk together past upholstered walls with the crude remarks. And they meet at parties through the friends of friends who they never
know. “Do I pick you up or do I meet you there or shall we let it go?” “Did you get my message? ‘Cause I looked in vain.”
“Can we see each other Tuesday if it doesn’t rain?” “Look, I’ll call you in the morning or my service will explain.”

“But I at least gotta try
when I think of all the sights that I gotta see
and all the places I gotta play,
all the things that I gotta be at.”

~cc

One comment on “Into the Words

  1. Meredith says:

    Sondheim is a beast!

Leave a Reply

