I’ll Be Seeing You

We hit 6 months since the accident on Thursday. With that and not having Makenzie next to me for my last Nutcracker it was a rough weekend.

Well, Kenzie and I LOVED to sing together. I have so many songs that I automatically connect to her just because we sung them so much. Whenever I would hop into her car to go to or from dance, I’d plug-in my iPod, and ask, “What do you want to listen to” She usually would reply with, “Surprise me!” but sometimes she was more specific.

The first song i remember us really connecting to was the old classic, I’ll be Seeing you. We had both seen the production of Swing! down at TUTS separately, and discussed that number in the show. It was a beautifully danced number and sung gorgeously by Emily Drennan. We would waltz around together singing it to eachother all the time. It really was our song.

Then we both discovered it was the theme song in our favorite movie, The Notebook. We pulled an all nighter one night and watched that movie twice I think. I don’t think I’ve watched it since…

I look at the lyrics now and miss her more than ever.

Kenzie, I’ll be seeing you in every lovely summers day. In everything thats light and gay. I’ll always think of you that way. I’ll find you in the morning sun and when the night is new, I’ll be looking at the moon but I’ll be seeing you.

a beautiful version…

love always,

cc

One comment on “I’ll Be Seeing You

  1. Thanks, C.
    The world mourns for about 5-6 months where close friends and family mourn longer. Our mourning will last a lifetime. As I read this today and think of The Nutcracker performances this weekend, I just can’t stop crying. Missing Makenzie. Missing her joy and love for life.

Leave a Reply

