Talking about my friends

I miss Makenzie. More than ever. Tomorrow will be 25 weeks. 25 weeks without her. There have been so many times this past month where I’ve desperately wanted to run across the street, jump on her bed, and sing silly songs. Or just talk to her. We talked a lot!! We would always get sooo sidetracked that we would never finish thoughts on one subject before we were on to the next. One of my favorite memories of Kenz was one time when I was heading back home I started to leave her room and I said something funny. I guess it was funny ’cause she laughed her head off. She ran over to the door where I was standing and gave me a ginormous hug. It kinda caught me off guard. We always hugged. ALWAYS. But for some reason this hug was different. It was as if she was saying, “I’m so glad I’ve met you.” How I wish I could go back in time and relive that hug. In Cara’s piece when Devin would come over and hug me near the end, I tried to imagine that particular hug. I never wanted to let go of her. But as I have learned over these past 25 weeks, letting go is not an option. It doesn’t mean I’ll ever forget it just means that life can go on. I’m so glad that I got to meet Makenzie Stocker. She taught me so much about love and life and friendship and family. I hope I was as good of a friend to her as she was to me.

I love King A. A lot! I know I tell him this a lot but I cannot say it enough. I admire him so much, both as a dancer and an individual. He’s been so strong and mature dealing with everything the accidents brought into his life and I couldn’t be more proud of him. He’s so unbelievably important to me and I love him so dearly.

Max is the best friend EVER. After the accident he came to my house everyday for 2 weeks to visit me. Max and I have been best friends for years but the things that we’ve been through this past year has made us even closer. He always says the right things to me, whether I want to hear it or not, and I thank him for that. True friends tell you what you don’t want to hear, and thats usually the truth. I’m so glad we get to dance together this year for my final Nutcracker.

I cannot wait to see Maggie when she comes home for thanksgiving. I definitely need some Maggie time! But thank goodness for iChat, right?!

All of my friends are a blessing in my life. I love them all so much. Loosing one has made me realize how valuable the rest are in my life. I appreciate their kindness and support to me, particularly in this hard time of my life. To Makenzie, Aaron, Max, Maggie, Trav, Cara, Josh, Dev, Devin, Jason, G, Abby, Shelby, Kostas, Dana, Kate, Sarah, Mer, Amanda, Madi, Shoelie, Laura, Katie, Emilie, Nancy, Leah, Kelly, Libby, Betsy, Sean, Jen, Kish… to all of my friends, whether i listed you or not: I love you so much! You are all such unique individuals. So talented, smart, beautiful people and I feel lucky to be called your friend.

Always remember you are loved. I love you. Even if you’re reading this and even if I don’t personally know you and you’re reading this, I still love you. Thank you for caring so much to take the time and read my thoughts on here.

“If I had to sum up Friendship in one word, it would be Comfort.”  ~Adabella Radici

~CC

2 comments on “Talking about my friends

  1. duckduckdana says:

    I love you so much Cannon! You are super amazing and I cannot wait to be mentioned in your Tony winning speech! haha Not kidding.
    Love ya!

  2. Jennifer Delac says:

    I love you too! I watched the slideshow you made me the other day and it made me cry but in a good way! I miss you and am so proud of you and of how strong a person you are. I really look up to you.
    Love,
    Jen

Leave a Reply

