“You Turned my Mourning into Dancing”

Life is crazy at the moment. I’m working on two shows that are about to open within the same 2 weeks. I’m trying to finish up some class courses. And on top of everything, I woke up with a sore throat, achy body, stuffy nose, and fever this morning. Not cool.

Despite the current insanity, I had an amazing experience occur recently that I will try to put into words for you here…

Last Wednesday I was having a horrible day. I won’t go into it, but it was bad. Late that evening we had rehearsal for Cara’s Fusion in Sync dance, “You Turned My Mourning Into Dancing”. The dance is basically about the accident on June 3rd. I’d love to talk about the dance in detail but I don’t want to ruin it for those of you who will be attending the show. The dance is 15 mins long and I personally get very little breaks from moving. In the dance we have the “trio” in which Aaron and I play ourselves, Devin is Makenzie’s body, and Cara/Madi is Makenzie’s spirit. I enjoy every second of those beautiful five mins. Then Aaron and I go into our duet which is supposed to be life after June 3rd. Then the full cast proceeds into the remainder of the dance which is the funeral. By this time, everyone if filled with so much emotion. In Wednesday’s rehearsal it was the first time we all stopped thinking about the movement and started thinking about how we felt. Of course we all started to break down and cry. Even though it was extremely sad, it was also extremely therapeutic to look around and see all of my friends sobbing. So many times a day I think about feeling so alone, but really I’m not. All of my friends love me and we are there for each other just like Makenzie was for us. This is probably going to be the most personal dance I will ever perform in my life and I could not be more thankful to Cara. It means so much to me to dedicate this to Kenz and to be able to know that she is watching us and smiling.

After the rehearsal finished, I went up to Aaron, who was crying as well (everyone was) and we just hugged and sobbed into each other’s shoulders. I’ve thought so many times about how lucky we are to have each other. If I had lost him as well, I can’t even imagine… I love him so much and feel honored that we get to share our story together. Below is two pictures taken by Miss Madi Gladu of us working on our duet in rehearsal sometime last week.

with Cara- YTMMID, duet

YTMMID, duet

Words cannot describe how much I can’t wait to perform this number. It’ll be the hardest, most rewarding thing I’ll ever have to do. But it’ll be worth it.

This piece will be performed at Bay Area Houston Ballet and Theatre’s “Fusion in Sync”, October 9th, 10th, 11th and 7:30pm.

Location to be announced. I hope you will come and take the time to see this incredible show. Its going to be absolutely stunning.

~CC

 

5 comments on ““You Turned my Mourning into Dancing”

  1. Vanessa Garner says:

    Well….I have been looking for a story / description for my press release…that about sums it up…along with plenty of tears and emotion. I am SO sad I will not be there to see it. I am so proud of you all!!! This sounds incredible….enjoy and heal. Love to you all. Vanessa

  2. Becca Willett says:

    Please after ya’ll finish the show put the dance on youtube otherwise I will not be able to see it. Love ya lots.
    Becca

  3. Kendall Covington says:

    Yes, please post the dance on youtube if at all possible! i would love to see it!

  4. ccandcompany says:

    I’ve spoken with Cara and she has decided not to post the dance on Youtube. Sorry :-/

  5. jamiesworldishere says:

    I loved the dance you guys did great. If I had a choice i would see it over and over.

    -JD-

Leave a Reply

